Wubi Wow!

The Windows UBuntu Installer, aka Linux for chumps.

The Windows UBuntu Installer, aka Linux for chumps.

I must say, I thought I had fallen out of love with Ubuntu Linux distros a long, long time ago.  Despite my curmudegeony love for the simplicity of Fedora distros, I just started playing with Wubi on a work computer because I wanted to quickly format a USB drive. I used to think this was easy in Windows, but I found out it is so much easier in Linux with all the nifty CLI utilities.  After 10 minutes, I am so shocked at how slick Xubuntu is on my computer with a one-click Windows installer.  I really appreciate not needing to mod my work laptop too much, and with anything more complicated than installing OpenOffice.org.  I definitely will make this the “it app” at the water cooler.  This is ascreenshot from a Lenovo Thinkpad T400.

What you see is what you get.

What you see is what you get.


About this entry